I take heart from Gardner’s work on Multiple Intelligences (See References listing).  Intelligences in the plural has entered the lexicon as a result of his work from the early 1990s. He originally proposed that there were  7 forms of intelligence: Musical, Bodily-Kinesthetic, Logical-Mathematical, Linguistic, Spatial, Interpersonal and Intrapersonal. Later, he (and others) began to recognize that there were infinitely more.  A summary of Gardner’s work, with many links can be found in Wikipedia under Multiple Intelligences  I can’t help noting that Wikipedia does not recognize Knowledges in the plural, and keeps inviting me to create a page — which I will one day.

I’m not so much interested in how many intelligences Gardner and his followers have counted. The number keeps increasing. What interests me is his argument that there are many intelligences. He explains that his vision is:

…a pluralistic view of mind, recognizing many different and discrete facets of cognitions, acknowledging that people have different cognitive strengths and contrasting cognitive styles (2006, p. 5)

This parallels my own thinking, of course, and I’m going to make some other posts referring to Gardner.  As for the similarities and differences between knowledges and intelligences, that’s something I’m thinking about. I have avoided defining knowledge and knowledges, but Gardner seems to have achieved clarity around intelligences. He writes:

An intelligence is a computational capacity–a capacity to process a certain kind of information–that originates in human biology and human psychology. (2006, p.6.)

So there.

