The title of my presentation at the ISSOTL Conference today was: Advancing Scholarship Through Knowledges Exchange in the SCoPE Online Community of Practice. The concepts are difficult to put across in a presentation that has to be contracted into a 25 minute time slot .The participants were relaxed and willing to engage, and we shared some laughs. However, at the end of the allotted time, most were silent, which is a common reaction. I could see in their eyes that they were processing the information, but there was little feedback. Let’s see if any of them post in SCoPE or here in the blog.

 

The highlight of the day for me was the panel discussion on Indigenous Perspectives on Knowledge and Epistemologies. Sue Green, an aboriginal woman from Australia and Aroha Yates-Smith, a Maori woman from New Zealand, spoke to us about the challenges facing their peoples, especially in relation to education.  I was delighted to hear Sue speak of aboriginal knowledges, in the plural. She spoke repeatedly of the need for respect and dignity and there was discussion of the lack of dignity and spiritual wasteland that characterizes the western education system. All this resonated with me, and strengthened my resolve to continue my work. 

