Tomorrow is the first day of the 2007 conference for ISSOTL (International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning). It is being hosted by the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia.  I am making a presentation about my theory of Knowledges Exchange, and suggesting that the exchanges in SFU’s online community platform, SCoPE, contribute to the development of scholarship. 

I’m looking forward to hearing the responses of the participants in the workshop. Some feedback on my ideas will help me to move forward in articulating the concept of KE.

 

One of the questions I’m anticipating is related to evidence. How can I prove that KE results in increased scholarship? What are the benchmarks?  I don’t have definitive answers yet, and in any case the answers I’m developing lean heavily towards social construction, so that everything is relative. I’m hoping that there will be a stimulating discussion using the SCoPE forum I’ve set up for that purpose.

