Of course, I’m not the only person who thinks of knowledges in the plural. Peter Worsley’s 1997 publication is entitled simply Knowledges. I will be referring to comments in this book over time, but I wanted to introduce it here as a useful reference for people who share my interest.  The full title of the work is Knowledges: Culture, counterculture, subculture, and that is a strong hint that Worsley’s area of study is anthropology. His work is based on a comparison of various characteristics of Australian Aboriginal culture with those same characteristics in various other cultures. For example, he compares forms of healing in different countries and traditions. He concludes, as do I that: “Knowledge, then, is necessarily plural: there are knowledges, not simply Knowledge with a capital K (p.10).”

